Week 2, 3 and 4: Implementing History View and Revamping the UI of Gnome-Calculator

Hi everybody,

Sorry for the late update on the project, was a little busy writing the code for this project.
Anyways let me give you a brief description of what I have been able to implement so far!
I have added padding to the buttons so that they are aligned in well sepearated rows and columns. We are planning to keep the color of the buttons nearly the same except the buttons for the operators would have a darker shade of grey and the result button would be blue in color. Improving the functionality of Undo buttons has already been implemented by another developer so I just fixed a bug associated with the same. I have also implemented History View which is the most important subtask of this project. The History View stores the expression entered by the user along with the corresponding answer into well defined rows of Gtk.ListBox.You can select and edit the expression in a row by double clicking the corresponding row.
Link to the patch for adding padding to the buttons:
https://github.com/elitalobo/GNOME/blob/master/0001-adds-padding-to-buttons.patch
Link to the patch for implementing history view :
https://github.com/elitalobo/GNOME/blob/master/implements-history-view.patch
Link to image of History View in Gnome-Calculator:

We have more plans for history view and the UI so stay tuned. I would be back with more updates on my project soon!

3 thoughts on “Week 2, 3 and 4: Implementing History View and Revamping the UI of Gnome-Calculator

  1. ElitaLobo,

    Calculators have a standard UI in the physical world. As an engineer, I want a calculator in Gnome that mimics the real world. The Gnome Calculator used to have such a mode, but successive maintainers have decided to scratch their itches and re-work the UI endlessly.

    How about creating one calculator personality view that is invariant and mimics one of the more popular physical calculators? Make this a specific layout that cannot be changed. On my Android phone, I have “RealCalc” which does this. I stopped using Gnome Calculator long ago because it can’t meet reasonable expectations. The few times that I inadvertently do use Gnome Calculator, I’m inevitably reaching for my phone after more than a few seconds.

    I really appreciate your enthusiasm and dedication in moving the code along. Hopefully, Jon McCann or Alan Day — one of the Gnome designers — would actually make the basic scientific calculator a default personality for the Gnome Calculator. Continually messing around with the UI is just annoying when the physical world has settled on a common UI and made it a commodity experience. There are lots of other surface areas for innovation within Gnome, but the calculator should have at least one view where innovation is slow and invariant. Thanks for listening!

    1. Hi Omagh,
      I haven’t changed the UI of Gnome-Calculator drastically , neither do I plan to do so. It is going to be kept as simple as it is. I have only added padding to the buttons and color to the result and color button.
      Thank you for your suggestions though.

Leave a Reply

